How to Get (or fake) Glowing Skin

Hello Queens! Today I want to talk about something that every woman wants, glowing and luminous skin. Some of us are naturally blessed with a beautiful complexion that is radiant even without makeup. Let’s be honest though, most of us are not. There are several things that you can do to take your skin from dull and tired to hydrated and healthy.

1. Use a hydrating night cream

Night creams are really essential to giving your skin the hydration it needs to repair and restore itself while you sleep. My personal favorite is CereVe Skin Renewing Night Cream. It runs about $17 but is worth every penny. Plus, this night cream has other skin loving ingredients like ceramides, hyaluronic acid and niacinamide that help fight fine lines and wrinkles.

cereve

2. Exfoliate, my friends, exfoliate

This is a really important step that a lot of people miss. Exfoliation helps to remove dead skin cells from the surface of your skin AND improves blood circulation. I skip the exfoliating cleansers and instead just use a cleansing brush. There are so many great exfoliating brushes on the market, probably the most well known being Clarisonic. I have used the Olay Pro-X facial cleansing brush for years and love it. I use it once a day, typically in the shower (it’s waterproof). I like to use my regular cleanser with this brush which I find to work really well, but without any irritation from the typical exfoliating beads in other cleansers.

olay

3. Use a gentle cleanser and moisturizer before makeup application

This one seems obvious, but many women have a tendency to lean towards “harsh” cleansers that only further irritate or dry the skin. I love Ocean Minerals Cleanser by Oz Naturals (I talked about this one in a previous post). I also use a really light moisturizer immediately after cleansing. Always let your moisturizer absorb into your skin for several minutes before makeup application.

4. Use a good primer (it’s really worth it, ladies)

Seriously. If you haven’t tried using a primer before makeup application you are missing out. A good primer helps to reduce the look or pores, fine lines, and wrinkles. It also helps your makeup to go on smoothly and can really give your skin a softer, more airbrushed finish. Some primers can help control oil or add moisture depending on the needs of your skin. I live and swear by Pur Minerals Prep and Perfect Correcting Primer ($33 at Ulta). I apply about a pea size amount all over my face AFTER moisturizing. I can immediately see a difference in the overall appearance of my skin. This stuff also extends the wear of my makeup (win/win).

color-correcting-primer-prep-and-perfect-cap-off

5. Use a beauty blender

If I could stand on top of a mountain and scream this from the top of my lungs, I would. USE A BEAUTY BLENDER. A damp one. It will change your life. After moisturizing, I like to start with some BB cream on the back of my hand. I dip my beauty blender in the cream (or liquid foundation if that’s what you use) and make a stamping/pressing motion on my face. The technique is called “stippling”. It allows makeup to go on super smooth, blurs the look of pores, and adds some fresh moisture to the skin from the sponge being damp. I personally like the Miracle Complexion Sponge by Real Techniques.

beauty-bldr

6. Use a good highlighter

Using a highlighter can do wonders to the overall look of your skin. It can make you look brighter, younger, and more luminous. Always use a highlighter sparingly (less is more). You want your highlight to be subtle and natural, so start slow and add more as needed. Obviously, only highlight areas that would naturally be lit by the sun (your forehead, upper cheekbones, center of your chin, and the bridge of your nose). I’ve tried a lot of different brands of highlighter, it really takes some experimentation to find which one is right for you. I love Mineral Glow Pearls by Physicians Formula and Candlelight Glow by Too Face.

glow

 

 

Leave a comment